Flanders commemorates the First World War

Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917

No thumbnail available

The Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 presents the historic story of the First World War in a poignant and vivid way, with a particular emphasis on the Battle of Passchendaele. This battle in 1917 is known as one of the most horrific battles from the First World War, with more than half-a-million casualties for a territorial gain of merely eight kilometres. ‘Passchendaele’ not only became a ... Read more

The Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 presents the historic story of the First World War in a poignant and vivid way, with a particular emphasis on the Battle of Passchendaele. This battle in 1917 is known as one of the most horrific battles from the First World War, with more than half-a-million casualties for a territorial gain of merely eight kilometres. ‘Passchendaele’ not only became a concept in the history of the First World War, it also became a symbol of the great futility of the violence of war in all its horror. The Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 combines the interactive design of a modern museum with the exceptional aspect of experiencing the Dugouts & Trenches.

The museum section provides an overview of the five battles of Ypres, including the Battle of Passchendaele. Using historical objects, authentic letters, posters and other documents, uniforms of the various armies and video clips etc. both young and old get an insight into how life must have been on and around the battlefields. The interactive elements throughout the entire museum collection ensure that children become acquainted with this piece of history in an interesting way. The tour then continues through the unique Dugout Experience. As a visitor, you discover how the British went to live underground in 1917. An oppressive experience that creates a disconcerting picture of the miserable and claustrophobic living conditions at that time. The visit concludes at the faithful reconstruction of German and British trenches, along which original shelters have been replicated. Experience the terrifying feeling that befell the soldiers when they were ‘imprisoned’ here. An intense visit that will only enrich your knowledge of the battle sites in the area.

Annually closed from 16 December to 31 January.

Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917
Berten Pilstraat 5A
8980 Zonnebeke
Always open
€ 8.5
info@passchendaele.be
+32 51 770441
www.passchendaele.be

Comments

Post a comment

La Flandre commémore la Première Guerre mondiale.

Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917

No thumbnail available

Le Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 vous racontera la Première Guerre mondiale de manière poignante et vivante et s’attardera tout particulièrement sur la Bataille de Passchendaele. Cette bataille, qui s’est déroulée en 1917, est connue pour être l’une des plus atroces de la Première Guerre mondiale : plus d’un demi-million de victimes y périrent pour gagner à peine 8 km de terrain. « ... Lire davantage

Le Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 vous racontera la Première Guerre mondiale de manière poignante et vivante et s’attardera tout particulièrement sur la Bataille de Passchendaele. Cette bataille, qui s’est déroulée en 1917, est connue pour être l’une des plus atroces de la Première Guerre mondiale : plus d’un demi-million de victimes y périrent pour gagner à peine 8 km de terrain. « Passchendaele » n’est pas seulement devenu une notion clé de l’histoire de la Première Guerre mondiale, mais aussi le symbole de la grande absurdité de la violence martiale dans toute son horreur. Le Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 combine l’interactivité d’un musée moderne à l’expérience exceptionnelle des tranchées « Dugout & Trench ».

La partie musée s’intéresse aux cinq Batailles d’Ypres, dont la Bataille de Passchendaele. Objets historiques, lettres authentiques, affiches et autres documents, uniformes des différentes armées, fragments vidéo, etc. permettront à tous, petits et grands, de se faire une idée de ce que devait être la vie sur un champ de bataille. Les éléments interactifs répartis tout au long du parcours du musée ne manqueront pas de capter l’attention des plus jeunes pour ce pan de l’Histoire. Le circuit emmènera ensuite les visiteurs vers la « Dugout Experience », unique en son genre. Vous y découvrirez la vie souterraine des Britanniques en 1917. Une aventure oppressante qui matérialise les conditions de vie déplorables et exigües de l’époque, dont vous ressortirez déconcerté. Des tranchées allemandes et britanniques, fidèles répliques des originales et le long desquelles des abris authentiques ont été reconstruits, constituent l’épilogue de la visite. Venez goûter au sentiment d’angoisse qui assaillit les soldats « prisonniers » de ces lieux. Une visite poignante qui ne fera qu’enrichir votre exploration des autres sites de guerre de la région.

Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917
Berten Pilstraat 5A
8980 Zonnebeke
Toujours ouvert
€ 8.5
info@passchendaele.be
+32 51 770441
www.passchendaele.be

Commentaires

Réagir