Flanders commemorates the First World War

Agenda

66 results found

Just married, a history of marriage

Comments 0
Just married, a history of marriage

From the late 18th century until the present day, the exhibition presents more than two hundred years of bridal fashion. Wedding dresses came in every possible colour before tradition dictated that the dress had to be white in the nineteenth century. The Church encouraged brides to wear this colour, which was considered a symbol of virginity. By wearing white dresses for their marriages, Queen ...

Brussel, Museum voor Kostuum en Kant (Musea van de Stad Brussel)
from 02/06/16 to 03/09/17 Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun from 10:00 to 17:00 (Mon closed)

Temporary exhibition 'Wilhelm Morgner'

Comments 0
Temporary exhibition 'Wilhelm Morgner'

The German expressionist Wilhelm Morgner died young in the trenches during the First World War (1917). He was buried in Langemark. Despite his young age, he has left an impressive oeuvre in which his admiration for, inter alia, Van Gogh is highly recognizable.

Langemark, Gemeentehuis Langemark-Poelkapelle
Fri 05/05/17 Fri 15/09/17

Expo Vive Labeur - Hail to work. China in Poperinge 1917-2017

Comments 0
Expo Vive Labeur - Hail to work. China in Poperinge 1917-2017

Poperinge, Gasthuiskapel
Sat 01/07/17 from 13:00 to 23:59 Sun 02/07/17 Mon 03/07/17 Tue 04/07/17 Wed 05/07/17 Thu 06/07/17 Fri 07/07/17 Sat 08/07/17 Sun 09/07/17 Mon 10/07/17 Tue 11/07/17 Wed 12/07/17 Thu 13/07/17 Fri 14/07/17 Sat 15/07/17 Sun 16/07/17 Mon 17/07/17 Tue 18/07/17 Wed 19/07/17 Thu 20/07/17 Fri 21/07/17 Sat 22/07/17 Sun 23/07/17 Mon 24/07/17 Tue 25/07/17 Wed 26/07/17 Thu 27/07/17 Fri 28/07/17 Sat 29/07/17 Sun 30/07/17 Mon 31/07/17 Tue 01/08/17 Wed 02/08/17 Thu 03/08/17 Fri 04/08/17 Sat 05/08/17 Sun 06/08/17 Mon 07/08/17 Tue 08/08/17 Wed 09/08/17 Thu 10/08/17 Fri 11/08/17 Sat 12/08/17 Sun 13/08/17 Mon 14/08/17 Tue 15/08/17 Wed 16/08/17 Thu 17/08/17 Fri 18/08/17 Sat 19/08/17 Sun 20/08/17 Mon 21/08/17 Tue 22/08/17 Wed 23/08/17 Thu 24/08/17 Fri 25/08/17 Sat 26/08/17 Sun 27/08/17 Mon 28/08/17 Tue 29/08/17 Wed 30/08/17 Thu 31/08/17 Fri 01/09/17 Sat 02/09/17 Sun 03/09/17 Mon 04/09/17 Tue 05/09/17 Wed 06/09/17 Thu 07/09/17 Fri 08/09/17 Sat 09/09/17 Sun 10/09/17 Mon 11/09/17 Tue 12/09/17 Wed 13/09/17 Thu 14/09/17 Fri 15/09/17 Sat 16/09/17 from 17/09/17 to 17/09/17

Australian Memorial Ceremony

Comments 0
Australian Memorial Ceremony

Official memorial ceremony for the Australian casualties with numerous themed activities.

Zonnebeke, Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917
Wed 20/09/17

GoneWest Concert | Tom Barman and guests

Comments 0
GoneWest Concert | Tom Barman and guests

A musical creation commemorates 100 years Battle of Passchendaele.All info: www.gonewest.be

Zonnebeke, Evenementenweide
Sat 14/10/17

De Eerste Wereldoorlog. Triomf of zwanenzang van de Belgische natiestaat?

Comments 0
De Eerste Wereldoorlog. Triomf of zwanenzang van de Belgische natiestaat?

Brussel, Spiegelzaal Gemeenschapscentrum De Markten
Mon 06/11/17 at 19:45

Passchendaele Ceremony and Concert - Canadian Memorial Ceremony

Comments 0
Passchendaele Ceremony and Concert - Canadian Memorial Ceremony

Memorial event to commemorate the end of the Battle of Passchendaele in 1917 with a ceremony at Crest Farm Memorial and a torchlight procession to the Passchendaele church. There is an outdoor reception followed by a themed concert in the Passchendaele church.

Passendale, Crest Farm Memorial
Fri 10/11/17

Tag For Remembrance Project ) Unique Remembrance Project

Comments 0
Tag For Remembrance Project ) Unique Remembrance Project

In this project, one can engrave a personal message of peace in an identity tag at the visitor centre of TyneCot Cemetery or on the website www.passchendaele2017.org

Passendale, Tyne Cot Cemetery
from 01/07/17 to 10/11/17

Tree Planting Day Peace Forest

Comments 0
Tree Planting Day Peace Forest

With the Vredesbos project, 100 years after the Battle of Passchendaele, a tree is planted in 2017 for every fallen soldier with a known grave in the two British cemeteries of Polygon Wood. A monument of all missing soldiers will also be built in a central area in the new park. Family members of fallen soldiers may also plant a tree in the park. The Vredesbos will keep the memories of the soldiers who lost their lives during World War I alive for many generations to come.

Zonnebeke, Polygoonbos
from 12/10/17 to 11/11/17

Temporary Exhibition ‘1917, Total War in Flanders – Passchendaele, landscape at war’

Comments 0
Temporary Exhibition ‘1917, Total War in Flanders – Passchendaele, landscape at war’

The exhibition focuses on the crucial role of the devastated landscape during the Battle of Passchendaele in 1917. Both armies were forced to adapt their tactics, attack methods and logistics. The impact on the servicemen, both physically and emotionally, was also enormous.

Zonnebeke, Villa Zonnedaele
from 03/06/17 to 15/11/17 open every day from 10:30 to 17:30

1-10 from 66 results